Skip to main content

You are here

Welcome to Dubai

Dubai is part of the United Arab Emirates (UAE), which was established in 1971 as an independent federation along with Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain and Fujairah, with Ras Al Khaimah joining in 1972. Regarded as the commercial capital of the UAE, Dubai is the second largest of the seven emirates.

As the business hub of the Middle East, Dubai has continued to invest in strategic infrastructure and transportation projects to support the growing service sectors and ensure a stable economic future.

One of Dubai’s most significant achievements has been the attraction of foreign business and investment through world-class category-based free trade areas such as Jebel Ali Free Zone,

These have helped to position the city as a knowledge hub, where a combination of home grown and global talent is helping to further diversify the economy, bring in more investment from around the world, and nurture startups and entrepreneurial endeavours.

Dubai’s transformation into a global knowledge hub is backed by significant national legislative development and investment, including the UAE National Innovation Strategy, which has distributed more than Dhs300 billion investments across seven main sectors: Renewable energy, Transport, Education, Health, Technology, Water and Space.

The city’s evolution is set to come into sharp focus when it hosts the World Expo in 2020. Under the theme ‘Connecting Minds, Creating the Future’, Expo 2020 is set to attract visitors from around the world and will provide a platform to foster creativity, innovation and partnership.

International Academy of Astronautics